Are you ready to write a book for Dr. APJ Abdul Kalam?

Dear friends,

It was a big loss for the country, for the planet this week! When I heard the news that my childhood hero Dr. APJ Abdul Kalam is no more, I just couldn’t believe my ears. I felt death should excuse people like Kalam. But, it shows no discrimination.

He is one of my inspirations to start Team Everest in 2006, an NGO working towards promoting volunteering in the country and providing quality education to children who cannot afford it. I’m lucky enough to meet him thrice in my life time and get his blessings during one of the meets. Here is the blog post sharing my experience with him.

My fourth meet with him unfortunately was during his funeral. I got a chance to touch and pray to Dr Abdul Kalam’s mortal remains in Rameshwaram. I was lucky enough to stand 10 feet away from his mortal for close to 1 hour with help from his PA. Throughout this hour I was just praying to him to bless all of us, to give us enough strength to realize his dreams. I took an oath that I will give my best to play a small role to make his vision come true. I felt that is the only way to pay tribute to this legend.

On my way back home, all I was seeing, hearing and reading was all about APJ. Let it be auto drivers, students, parents, in the TV, in Social media… Everyone is speaking about him. My Facebook wall is filled with posts about Dr. APJ Abdul Kalam. Everyone was sharing their experience with him or the lessons they learnt from him or how he inspired their life.

It was great to read all those stories and experiences. They are indeed great sources of inspiration and this made me think how we can collect all those great stories and put them in one place. Thus, came the idea of a book – ‘Memories with Abdul Kalam’.

So here is the idea – Crowd source stories of Dr. Abdul Kalam from people of this country. So, any school students, college students, professionals or anyone who had met Dr. Kalam or got inspired from him through his writings or thoughts can write their experience for our beloved hero.

This is how you can do it:

  • Mail your story about Dr.APJ Abdul Kalam to memorieswithabdulkalam@gmail.com on or before Sep-15, 2015.
  • While mailing, please provide the following details:
    • Name
    • I’m a __________ (Mention whether you are a School Student, College student, Professional, Home maker etc..)
    • Please mention details about your school/college?Profession if applicable.
    • Mobile Number
    • Alternate Mobile Number
    • City/Town/Village
    • District
    • State & Country
  • The story could be your experience with Dr. Kalam if you have met him even once in your life time or it could be about how you got inspired by him.
  • The stories should be in English and can have a maximum of 1500 words.
  • Top-100 stories will be picked by a team.
  • The selected stories will be published as a book on Dr. Abdul Kalam’s birthday – Oct-15, 2015.

I’m happy to take the responsibility for this initiative on my shoulder and pay a small tribute for my loving childhood hero.

What are you waiting for? Let the people of our country write for our people’s  President.

Let’s write for him and spread his goodness all around. Happy Writing!

– Karthee Vidya (Volunteer for Ever)

About Me: I’m Karthee Vidya with a dream to promote volunteering in our country. I have a dream where every person volunteers at least once a month (12/365). I love kids and volunteering. Education and Volunteering is very close to my heart. I’m 30 years old on this planet and 9 years old to volunteering. To know more about me, check my Facebook page.

To be part of the volunteering journey and to get updates, whatsapp as ‘Update Me’ with your name and city to +91 89399 12365. You will get individual whatsapp msg each week about volunteering opportunities in your city. Happy Volunteering!

Leave a Reply

